1998 Child Care Task Force Report


Child Care Task Force Report: Ambassadors for Children


The Community Action Network would like to gratefully acknowledge the following individuals without whose help this report would not have been possible.

Stan Knee, Chief of Police

Honorary Co-chair, Child Care Task Force

Scott McCown, Travis County Judge

Honorary Co-chair, Child Care Task Force

Jackie Goodman, Mayor Pro Tem

Co-Chair, Child Care Task Force

Rhonda Paver, Chair, Child Care Council

Co-Chair, Child Care Task Force


Bill McLellan, LifeWorks

Chair, Children's Fund Committee

Michael Lacour, IBM

Chair, Work/Family Issues Committee

Jackie Goodman, City of Austin

Co-chair, Policy Incentives Committee

Judith Dale, Consultant

Co-chair, Policy Incentives Committee

Patsy McCreary, Austin Community College

Co-chair, Quality Issues Committee

Dawn Lewis, Consultant

Co-chair Quality Issues Committee


Deedy Atkins

Austin Community Nursery Schools

Carol Barrett

City of Austin Planning Department

Terry Bates

Abiding Love Child Development Center

Margarine Beaman

Capital Area Work Force Development Bd

Karlene Bennett

Ebenezer Child Development Center

Charles Betts

Austin Area Research Organization

Cecilia Blanford

Austin Community Nursery Schools

Carmel Borders

Tapestry Foundation

Sandy Briley

U.T. Child Care Programs

Kathryn Burleson

Registered Family Home

Joan Burnham

The Austin Project

Danny Castro

Dittmar Recreation Center

Marion Coleman

Hogg Foundation

Meredith Cooper

Child Development Consultant

Thomas Cruz

Police Department Community Liaison

Chiquie Estrada

Esquela Montessori

Patti Everitt


Pam Favor


Sue Gartner

Austin Community College

Gary Godsey

United Way

Karen Hayward

Travis County Health and Human Services

Dolores Hillyer

Capital Creative Schools, Inc.

Phyllis Jack-Moore

Work/Family Specialist

Mya Johnson

Generations, Inc.

Rose Lancaster

Austin Child Care Collaborative

Lynda MacLeod

Austin Independent School District

Beth Morgan

U.T. Human Ecology Department

Janis Morgan

General Land Office

Norma Neal

Austin Area Employers' Collaborative

Mary Ellen Nudd

Mental Health Association

Susan Pintchovski

Austin Area Employers' Collaborative

Elaine Rayburn

ESR Group

Deborah Richardson

Associate Judge-Travis County

Leonard Saenz

Travis County D.A.'s Office

Gretchen Shartle

Foundation for Expanding Horizons

James Strickland

Child, Inc.

Kate Tanguis

Hancock Recreation Center

Eleanor Thompson

Ebenezer Child Development Board

Ana Kirk Thornton


Jeff Travillion

State Comptroller's Office

Jeannette Watson


Penny Wilkov

Judge, Municipal Court


Shelley Scheel

Coordinator, Child Care Task Force

Linda Welsh

City of Austin, Early Childhood Services

Fred Butler

Community Action Network

Ron Hubbard

City of Austin, Early Childhood Services

Sam Woollard

Community Action Network

Brenda Ahrns

Community Action Network

Child Care Task Force Report Home Page